

Distr.: General 30 June 2011

Original: English

Note by the President of the Security Council

Pursuant to paragraph 4 (b) of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 30 October 1998 (S/1998/1016), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to elect the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of subsidiary bodies for the period ending 31 December 2011 as follows:

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 751 (1992) and 1907 (2009) concerning Somalia and Eritrea

Chairman: Hardeep Singh Puri (India)

Vice-Chairmen: Lebanon and Nigeria

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 1267 (1999) and 1989 (2011) concerning Al-Qaida and associated individuals and entities¹

Chairman: Peter Wittig (Germany)

Vice-Chairmen: Brazil and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning counter-terrorism

Chairman:

Hardeep Singh Puri (India)

Vice-Chairmen: France, Gabon and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1518 (2003)

Chairman: U. Joy Ogwu (Nigeria)

Vice-Chairman: India

¹ The name of the Committee was amended by the Security Council on 30 June 2011.





Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1521 (2003) concerning Liberia

Chairman:

Nawaf Salam (Lebanon)

Vice-Chairmen: Portugal and South Africa

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Chairman:

Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti (Brazil)

Vice-Chairmen: Gabon and Lebanon

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

Chairman:

Baso Sangqu (South Africa)

Vice-Chairmen: Lebanon, Portugal and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1572 (2004) concerning Côte d'Ivoire

Chairman:

Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti (Brazil)

Vice-Chairmen: Germany and South Africa

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

Chairman: Nestor Osorio (Colombia)

Vice-Chairmen: Bosnia and Herzegovina and India

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1636 (2005)

Chairman:

Noël Nelson Messone (Gabon)

Vice-Chairmen: Bosnia and Herzegovina and Germany

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006)

Chairman:

José Filipe Moraes Cabral (Portugal)

Vice-Chairmen: Lebanon and Nigeria

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1737 (2006)

Chairman:

Nestor Osorio (Colombia)

Vice-Chairman: Nigeria

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Chairman:

José Filipe Moraes Cabral (Portugal)

Vice-Chairman: India

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011)

Chairman: Peter Wittig (Germany)

Vice-Chairmen: Brazil and Russian Federation

Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations

Chairman: U. Joy Ogwu (Nigeria)

Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa

Chairman: Baso Sangqu (South Africa)

Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004)

Chairman: Hardeep Singh Puri (India)

Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict

Chairman: Peter Wittig (Germany)

Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions

Chairman:

Ivan Barbalić (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Informal Working Group on International Tribunals

Chairman:

José Filipe Moraes Cabral (Portugal)